Dan Gill http://wrkf.org en Pop Go the Mushrooms http://wrkf.org/post/pop-go-mushrooms <p>After a rainy period in summer we typically see mushrooms popping up everywhere in the Baton Rouge area.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 11:19:00 +0000 Dan Gill 29589 at http://wrkf.org Pop Go the Mushrooms Leaves of Three, Let it Be http://wrkf.org/post/leaves-three-let-it-be <p>Poison ivy is abundant during the summer in urban, suburban, and rural landscapes. To deal with poison ivy, first of all you have to be able to recognize it.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 12:12:00 +0000 Dan Gill 29265 at http://wrkf.org Leaves of Three, Let it Be Pinch That Wilting Violet http://wrkf.org/post/pinch-wilting-violet <p>Deadheading is an important, but often neglected, gardening technique -- it involves pruning off old, faded flowers from a plant as it blooms.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Sat, 05 Jul 2014 11:25:00 +0000 Dan Gill 28919 at http://wrkf.org Pinch That Wilting Violet Hot Summer Herbs http://wrkf.org/post/hot-summer-herbs <p>Many of the popular herbs we grow languish in the heat of the summer, and some of them downright pitch a fit, including thyme, chives, and cilantro. Fortunately, there are a number of herbs that tolerate, or even prefer, the hot, torrid weather of a Louisiana summer.</p><p></p><p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 11:31:00 +0000 Dan Gill 28623 at http://wrkf.org Hot Summer Herbs Stop and Prune the Roses? http://wrkf.org/post/stop-and-prune-roses <p>Most roses are not especially happy in the extreme heat of mid-to-late summer. And, come to think of it, neither are most gardeners. But pruning some roses is something you might want to consider this time of year.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Sat, 14 Jun 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Dan Gill 27972 at http://wrkf.org Stop and Prune the Roses? Humpty Dumpty, the Tree that Might Fall http://wrkf.org/post/humpty-dumpty-tree-might-fall <p>Now that hurricane season is here, it's time to look at the trees in your landscape. A tree that's sickly, low in vigor, and shows significant signs of rot can be a real liability during storms. In the high winds of a hurricane, trees with weakened trunks are likely to go over. The extreme rains can soak the soil so much that trees can topple over if their weight is not balanced.</p><p></p><p> Sat, 07 Jun 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Dan Gill 27659 at http://wrkf.org Humpty Dumpty, the Tree that Might Fall What's Missing From Your Soil? http://wrkf.org/post/whats-missing-your-soil <p>Plants get certain nutrients from the soil, elements like nitrogen and phosphorus. Using fertilizer ensures there's an ample supply of these nutrients.</p><p> Sat, 31 May 2014 11:29:00 +0000 Dan Gill 27352 at http://wrkf.org What's Missing From Your Soil? Tomato Trials and Triumphs http://wrkf.org/post/tomato-trials-and-triumphs <p>Of all the vegetables we grow in our gardens, tomatoes remain the most popular. And why not? Tomatoes form a very important part of Louisiana cuisine. But growing tomatoes is not without its challenges.</p><p> Sat, 24 May 2014 11:17:00 +0000 Dan Gill 27027 at http://wrkf.org Tomato Trials and Triumphs The Hearty Hibiscus http://wrkf.org/post/hearty-hibiscus <p>Louisiana gardeners have long loved the tropical hibiscus, but as this past winter has shown us, they're not reliably hearty. But there are hearty hibiscuses, that will take the cold and come back and bloom year after year.</p><p> Sat, 17 May 2014 11:40:00 +0000 Dan Gill 26680 at http://wrkf.org The Hearty Hibiscus Blooming in the Shade http://wrkf.org/post/blooming-shade <p>If you want to provide color on your patios and porches, there are lots of bedding plants that will bloom their hearts out through the heat of summer.</p><p> Sat, 03 May 2014 11:24:00 +0000 Dan Gill 26062 at http://wrkf.org Blooming in the Shade