Conversations in Medicine http://wrkf.org en Treating the Patient While the Illness is Treated http://wrkf.org/post/treating-patient-while-illness-treated <p>As Dr. Mark Kantrow explains, palliative care is focused on relieving pain and providing emotional support for seriously ill patients.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 11:16:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 29932 at http://wrkf.org In Clinical Trials, Minorities More Likely to Feel Like Guinea Pigs http://wrkf.org/post/clinical-trials-minorities-more-likely-feel-guinea-pigs <p>Dr. Charles Wood, now a radiation oncologist at the Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center, thought he was communicating well with all his patients while in training in Philadelphia a decade ago. But he found that twice as many non-white than white patients there believed they'd been treated in a clinical trial unknowingly.</p><p></p><p> Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 29278 at http://wrkf.org Head and Neck Cancers Less Prevalent, Harder to Treat http://wrkf.org/post/head-and-neck-cancers-less-prevalent-harder-treat <div style="font-family: arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal;">Dr. Laura Hetzler is a plastic surgeon working with the multidisciplinary team at the Mary Bird Perkins-Our Lady of the Lake Cancer Center. She says what makes cancers in the oral cavity, throat, lips, and larynx so hard to treat is that those parts of the body are involved in complex functions like how a person speaks, eats, and looks.&nbsp;</div><div style="font-family: arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal;">&nbsp;</div><div style="font-family: arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal;"> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 11:23:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 27978 at http://wrkf.org Preventing Skin Cancer, Especially in the Summer http://wrkf.org/post/preventing-skin-cancer-especially-summer <p>Hematologist/oncologist&nbsp;Dr. Gerald Miletello says wear sunscreen, stay away from the tanning booth, and check yourself to protect yourself.</p><p> Sun, 08 Jun 2014 20:05:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 27664 at http://wrkf.org Why Cocoa is Good Medicine http://wrkf.org/post/why-cocoa-good-medicine <p>Cocoa has been used as a health elixir for centuries, going back to the Incas. Dr. John Finley discusses the LSU AgCenter's study that revealed some of the compounds that make cocoa so beneficial.</p><p> Sun, 11 May 2014 21:36:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 26370 at http://wrkf.org What Makes Alzheimer's Respite Center Award-Winning http://wrkf.org/post/what-makes-alzheimers-respite-center-award-winning <p>Barbara Auten, Director of Alzheimer's Services of the Capital Area, says "patient-centered care" is the key to the success of Charlie's Place in Baton Rouge.</p><p> Sun, 27 Apr 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 25751 at http://wrkf.org Colorectal Cancer Is The Second Leading Cause of Cancer Death In Louisiana http://wrkf.org/post/colorectal-cancer-second-leading-cause-cancer-death-louisiana <p>Of cancers that affect both men and women, colorectal cancer is one of the most curable of all the cancer diseases if caught early.</p><p> Sun, 13 Apr 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 25093 at http://wrkf.org Ochsner CEO Warner Thomas on Hospital System Trends http://wrkf.org/post/ochsner-ceo-warner-thomas-hospital-system-trends <p></p><p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 12:19:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 24108 at http://wrkf.org Pennington Opens Childhood Obesity Clinic http://wrkf.org/post/pennington-opens-childhood-obesity-clinic <div><p>Dr. Daniel Hsia, an endocrinologist at the Pennington Biomedical Research Center, says the new 14,000-square foot clinic offers a demonstration kitchen and activity rooms for children.</p></div><p> Sun, 23 Feb 2014 13:34:47 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 22977 at http://wrkf.org Medications for Multiple Sclerosis Aimed at Prevent Worsening of Disease http://wrkf.org/post/medications-multiple-sclerosis-aimed-prevent-worsening-disease <p>Neurologists, who treat patients with Multiple Sclerosis, are excited to have many more FDA approved Multiple Sclerosis therapies on the market. Several more are in clinical trials or awaiting approval. Dr. April Erwin, a neurologist with Neuromedical Center in Baton Rouge, is optimistic that a cure is on the horizon. For more information about Multiple Sclerosis and treatment, please visit <a href="http://www.theneuromedicalcenter.com">www.theneuromedicalcenter.com</a>.</p><p> Sun, 09 Feb 2014 18:04:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 22293 at http://wrkf.org