Tom Goldman http://wrkf.org en NCAA Directors Decide To Allow More Freedom To Wealthier Schools http://wrkf.org/post/ncaa-directors-decide-allow-more-freedom-wealthier-schools Major changes are expected for the NCAA, whose board meets Thursday. Directors will consider giving the five power conferences more autonomy, as well as changing the way scholarships are administered. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:53:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 25686 at http://wrkf.org UConn To Face Kentucky In NCAA Final http://wrkf.org/post/uconn-face-kentucky-ncaa-final The matchup is set for Monday's men's NCAA basketball championship. The Connecticut Huskies will take on the Kentucky Wildcats. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 24798 at http://wrkf.org Freshmen Wildcats Step Easily Into Storied Tradition http://wrkf.org/post/freshmen-wildcats-step-easily-storied-tradition Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>It is the last day of March, but there's still another weekend of March Madness to come. Four teams gather in Dallas this weekend for the Final Four. If you go strictly by seeding, the University of Kentucky is the longest shot to win the men's college basketball title. In fact, though, the eighth-seeded Wildcats suddenly are a very hot favorite after yesterday's thrilling win over Michigan in the Elite Eight.<p>Once again, head coach John Calipari has brought a freshman-heavy team to the brink of a championship. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 24537 at http://wrkf.org Kentucky Ends Wichita State's Unbeaten Season http://wrkf.org/post/kentucky-ends-wichita-states-unbeaten-season Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>OK. Time for an update on March Madness and first condolences are in order for the state of Kansas. Two of its highly regarded men's college basketball teams are out of the tournament. And in addition to condolences to Kansas, I can hear a lot of brackets shredding all over the country. The University of Kansas, a number two seed, lost yesterday to Stanford 70-to-67.<p>And also the undefeated Wichita State Shockers are undefeated no more. They lost to Kentucky in a thriller yesterday, 78-to76. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 09:59:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 24175 at http://wrkf.org Drought Closes Oregon Resort Before The Season Even Opens http://wrkf.org/post/draught-closes-oregon-resort-season-ever-opened Transcript <p>JACKI LYDEN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Jacki Lyden. This was supposed to be a special year for the Mount Ashland ski area in Southern Oregon as it celebrated its 50th anniversary. But after a long drought this summer, Mount Ashland had to call it a season early. Yesterday, it declared slope season was over due to a lack of snow. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 11:45:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 23786 at http://wrkf.org Young Athletes Risk Back Injury By Playing Too Much http://wrkf.org/post/young-athletes-risk-back-injury-playing-too-much Jack Everett sat on his living room couch wearing a back brace, eyes glued to a massive TV set playing his favorite video game, NHL 2013.<p>"I'm the Boston Bruins," the 10-year-old said as he deftly worked the video controls. "The guy that just shot was Milan Lucic. He's a really good guy on our team."<p>Whether at home or during recess at his elementary school in suburban Los Angeles, Jack's young life now is about sitting still.<p>"Well, I can eat lunch with friends, and I play cards," Jack says. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 22068 at http://wrkf.org Young Athletes Risk Back Injury By Playing Too Much U.S. Olympic Skier Finds Team Spirit, Minus The Team http://wrkf.org/post/us-olympic-skier-finds-team-spirit-minus-team The U.S. Olympic team is taking shape in the run-up to next month's Winter Games in Russia. Mon, 20 Jan 2014 08:32:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 21483 at http://wrkf.org U.S. Olympic Skier Finds Team Spirit, Minus The Team NBA Trailblazers Continue Their Surprising Season http://wrkf.org/post/nba-trailblazers-continue-their-surprising-season Transcript <p>DON GONYEA, HOST: <p>A third of the NBA season is complete and the Portland Trailblazers are on a surprising run. Last night they beat the L. A. Clippers 116 - 112 in overtime. Portland has the league's best record - 24 wins, five losses. Now the tepid pre-season forecasts are turning into talk of how far the Blazers can go in the post-season. NPR's Tom Goldman reports.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: The Trailblazers already have beaten title contenders Indiana, Oklahoma City and San Antonio. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 10:29:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 20570 at http://wrkf.org Rape Accusation Still Shadows Heisman Finalist http://wrkf.org/post/rape-accusation-still-shadows-heisman-finalist On Saturday night, there's a very good chance Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston will win the Heisman Trophy, awarded each year to the best college football player in the country.<p>For Winston, family, friends, teammates and Seminole fans, undoubtedly it'll be a shining moment, but a discordant note continues to run through this tale of football glory.<p>On Friday, a lawyer representing a young woman who accused Winston of rape said the investigation that essentially cleared Winston of wrongdoing is anything but clear. Sat, 14 Dec 2013 14:55:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 20071 at http://wrkf.org Rape Accusation Still Shadows Heisman Finalist FSU Quarterback Jameis Winston Won't Be Charged With Rape http://wrkf.org/post/fsu-quarterback-jameis-winston-wont-be-charged-rape Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Tomorrow night, star quarterback Jameis Winston will lead the Florida State Seminoles against Duke in the Atlantic Coast Conference title game. It's a big deal, mainly because Winston's participation was in doubt. Until yesterday. That's when a Florida prosecutor announced he would not charge Jameis Winston with a felony. A young woman had accused the player of rape after a sexual encounter a year ago. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 10:31:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 19709 at http://wrkf.org