Bill Cassidy http://wrkf.org en TUESDAY: Former State Sen. Jim Brown; Civil Rights Photographer Matt Herron http://wrkf.org/post/tuesday-former-state-sen-jim-brown-civil-rights-photographer-matt-herron <p>Former Louisiana State Senator, Commissioner of Insurance and LSU Track Athlete Jim Brown stops by the studio to discuss politics with Jim for the better part of today's show. They discuss Rep. Bill Cassidy's chances of becoming U.S. Senator, as well as Rob Maness's campaign. They also discuss the Republican primary taking place this afternoon in Mississippi pitting Sen. Thad Cochran against Tea-Party backed candidate Chris McDaniel.&nbsp;</p><p>Civil Rights Photographer Matt Herron joins Jim for the last segment of today's show. He and Jim discuss the photos he took during the summer's of 1964 and 1965 in Mississippi and the stories behind them.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 15:06:50 +0000 Jim Engster 28451 at http://wrkf.org WEDNESDAY: Kirsten Alvanitakis, Sandy Parfait http://wrkf.org/post/wednesday-kirsten-alvanitakis-sandy-parfait <p>Jim Engster interviews Kirsten Alvanitakis, Communications Director for Louisiana Democrats about political issues and Sandy Parfait of the Greater Baton Rouge Arts Council highlights the Laurel Street Palooza event.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 16:25:27 +0000 Jim Engster 21028 at http://wrkf.org Rep. Cassidy On Affordable Care Act, Offers Up Alternative Reforms http://wrkf.org/post/rep-cassidy-affordable-care-act-offers-alternative-reforms <p><strong><a href="http://theadvocate.com/home/5600585-125/cassidy-running-for-us-senate" target="_blank">News broke</a> Tuesday that 6th District Rep. Bill Cassidy will announce his candidacy for Senate Wednesday</strong>.</p><p>While Congress has been off last week and this week for their annual April recess, <a href="http://cassidy.house.gov/">Cassidy</a> has spent some of his time off here in Baton Rouge.</p><p>Cassidy recently co-sponsored the Defund Obamacare Act, which is part of the Republican handling of the Affordable Care Act three years after the healthcare overhaul was signed into law.</p><p dir="ltr" style="margin-top: 0pt;margin-bottom: 0pt;">&nbsp;<br> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Ashley Westerman 8316 at http://wrkf.org Rep. Cassidy On Affordable Care Act, Offers Up Alternative Reforms Rep. Cassidy Co-Sponsors "Defund Obamacare Act" http://wrkf.org/post/rep-cassidy-co-sponsors-defund-obamacare-act <p><span id="internal-source-marker_0.7477453688176646" style="font-size:19px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;"><a href="http://cassidy.house.gov/">Republican Congressman Bill Cassidy</a> has signed on to legislation that aims to defund President Obama’s health care reform law.</span></p><p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 20:08:28 +0000 Ashley Westerman 7426 at http://wrkf.org Cassidy Clinches Third Term http://wrkf.org/post/cassidy-clinches-third-term <p><span class="BodyCopy">U.S. Rep. Bill Cassidy is headed back to Washington to represent Louisiana's 6th Congressional District.</span></p><p class="BodyCopy"> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 06:00:00 +0000 Ashley Westerman 1981 at http://wrkf.org Cassidy Clinches Third Term Name Recognition Key to Down Ballot Races http://wrkf.org/post/name-recognition-key-down-ballot-races <p>Many names follow Obama and Romney on the Nov. 6 ballot here in southeast Louisiana. Mon, 05 Nov 2012 21:33:00 +0000 Lisa Lovello 1813 at http://wrkf.org Cassidy Seeks A Third Term http://wrkf.org/post/cassidy-seeks-third-term <p>For the final installment of our conversation series with the 6<sup>th</sup> Congressional District candidates, WRKF's Ashley Westerman spoke with the incumbent.</p><p>Republican Representative Dr. Bill Cassidy is running for his third term in office. Cassidy says if he’s re-elected he’ll continue to work to repeal Obamacare as part of his agenda to reform Medicaid and Medicare, and balance the budget.</p><p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Ashley Westerman 1412 at http://wrkf.org Cassidy Seeks A Third Term Bill Cassidy, Cody Worsham, Darlyne Nemeth http://wrkf.org/post/bill-cassidy-cody-worsham-darlyne-nemeth <p>6th District Congressman Bill Cassidy, who's running for re-election on Nov. 6, visits.</p><p>Tiger Rag Magazine editor Cody Worsham reports the arrest of four former LSU players on drug charges.</p><p>Dr. Darlyne Nemeth shares from her book, "Living In An Environmentally Traumatized World."</p><p> Fri, 26 Oct 2012 16:59:29 +0000 Jim Engster 1798 at http://wrkf.org Rep. Cassidy Says GOP Will Continue Fight Against Affordable Care Act http://wrkf.org/post/rep-cassidy-says-gop-will-continue-fight-against-affordable-care-act <p class="BodyCopy">Louisiana Republicans were up in arms Thursday after the US Supreme Court's decided to uphold President Obama's Affordable Care Act. Wed, 04 Jul 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Ashley Westerman 2169 at http://wrkf.org