mosquitoes http://wrkf.org en Chikun-What? A New Mosquito-Borne Virus Lands In The U.S. http://wrkf.org/post/chikun-what-new-mosquito-borne-virus-lands-us Pediatrician Jennifer Halverson will never forget her 36th birthday.<p>The St. Paul native was volunteering at a maternity clinic in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. She felt great — she went to her job that day and then out to dinner with friends.<p>But when she got home and went to sleep that night in May, something didn't feel right.<p>"Then I woke up at 3 in the morning," she says, "and what struck me the most was that my shoulders were on fire. It was like I was being stabbed in both shoulders."<p>The pain quickly spread to all of Halverson's joints — her hips, her knees and elbows. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 07:08:00 +0000 Michaeleen Doucleff 28864 at http://wrkf.org Chikun-What? A New Mosquito-Borne Virus Lands In The U.S. In London, An Underground Home For The World's Mosquitoes http://wrkf.org/post/london-underground-home-worlds-mosquitoes You can't hear it over the noise of London's traffic. But it's there. That faint, whining hum. Right under my feet, thousands of mosquitoes are dining on human blood.<p>To visit them, you have to go through a sliding glass door into the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. This school started as a hospital on the Thames River, where doctors treated sailors returning from faraway places with strange parasites.<p>Today, the building holds countless exotic diseases that you hope you'll never catch. The mosquitoes carry just a few of them, and their keeper is an entomologist named Dr. Sun, 15 Jun 2014 08:35:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 28032 at http://wrkf.org In London, An Underground Home For The World's Mosquitoes Houston, We Have Dengue Fever http://wrkf.org/post/houston-we-have-dengue-fever Dengue fever is in Houston. And it turns out the mosquito-borne illness isn't exactly a stranger there.<p>Dengue has been roaming around the city since 2003, according to a study published Wednesday. "There was <a href="http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/001374.htm">dengue</a> circulating, and we had no idea that it was here because we just weren't looking," says the study's lead author <a href="https://www.bcm.edu/education/schools/tropical-medicine/kristy-murray">Dr. Thu, 17 Oct 2013 17:34:00 +0000 editor 17593 at http://wrkf.org Houston, We Have Dengue Fever A Patch Designed To Make You Invisible To Mosquitoes http://wrkf.org/post/patch-designed-make-you-invisible-mosquitoes <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvBCsE1HtSU</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 16:47:00 +0000 Elise Hu 14426 at http://wrkf.org A Patch Designed To Make You Invisible To Mosquitoes 5 Stars: A Mosquito's Idea Of A Delicious Human http://wrkf.org/post/5-stars-mosquitos-idea-delicious-human If mosquitoes used Yelp, they might look for their next meal by searching nearby for a heavy-breathing human with Type O blood, sporting a red shirt and more than a smattering of skin bacteria. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 18:26:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 13270 at http://wrkf.org 5 Stars: A Mosquito's Idea Of A Delicious Human Record Number of West Nile Virus Cases http://wrkf.org/post/record-number-west-nile-virus-cases <div><span class="BodyCopy">Louisiana's worst year for West Nile virus in a decade continues into the fall season. On Friday the state Department of Health and Hospitals reported 12 new West Nile virus cases, and two more West Nile-related deaths.</span> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 06:00:00 +0000 Ashley Westerman 2161 at http://wrkf.org