2015 state budget http://wrkf.org en Insight: Ideas to Balance State Budget in Short Supply http://wrkf.org/post/insight-ideas-balance-state-budget-short-supply <p>With just 10 days left in the legislative session, we’re down to the nitty gritty: lawmakers are trying to figure out how to sew up the state budget. And earlier this week, the Revenue Estimating Committee rebuffed the Jindal administration’s wish to include $54 million in revenue that could come with changes to how the state Dept. of Revenue does its tax collecting, according to a group of consultants on the hunt for savings in the state budget.</p><p> Fri, 23 May 2014 10:40:53 +0000 Amy Jeffries & Melinda Deslatte 27001 at http://wrkf.org The 54-Million-Dollar Question: FY 2015 http://wrkf.org/post/54-million-dollar-question-fy-2015 <p>The Revenue Estimating Conference, the state’s official income predictors, met Monday afternoon to adopt new revenue projections for the upcoming fiscal year, which starts July 1.</p><p>LSU economist Dr. Jim Richardson had immediate concerns about the Jindal administration’s numbers, which included $54-million extra in anticipated tax collections.</p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Sue Lincoln 26820 at http://wrkf.org The 54-Million-Dollar Question: FY 2015 Public Invited for State Budget Input http://wrkf.org/post/public-invited-state-budget-input <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>As the sixth week of the twelve week session begins, the budget takes center stage on Monday and Tuesday.</p><p>“Our public comment days are April the 14<sup>th</sup> and April the 15<sup>th</sup>,” explains House Appropriations chairman Jim Fannin. And he says they will work into the evening both days, to ensure everyone can be heard.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Sue Lincoln 25156 at http://wrkf.org Public Invited for State Budget Input Tourism Giveth, Yet the Budget Taketh Away http://wrkf.org/post/tourism-giveth-yet-budget-taketh-away <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Senate Finance Committee got an outline of the proposed state budget Monday, and Houma Senator Norby Chaubert was curious about something.</p><p>“I notice that the majority of the statewide offices saw an increase in funding,” Chaubert said. “But I did not see the Lieutenant Governor’s budget getting any bump.”</p><p>The Lieutenant Governor’s office, which oversees the state Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, is indeed struggling to make ends meet. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Sue Lincoln 24230 at http://wrkf.org Tourism Giveth, Yet the Budget Taketh Away State Ag Budget Under Strain http://wrkf.org/post/state-ag-budget-under-strain <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The House Appropriations Committee began hearings on the budget proposals for each of the state’s departments Monday. Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain is asking for a bit more money this next year, and Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton) quizzed him about the reasons.</p><p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Sue Lincoln 23899 at http://wrkf.org State Ag Budget Under Strain There Will Be a Test http://wrkf.org/post/there-will-be-test <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>On the first real business day of the new session Tuesday, the House Appropriations jumped right in with heavy lifting, as they began combing through the governor’s 329-page budget proposal. Lawmakers didn’t hesitate to ask for detailed explanations about the line items. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Sue Lincoln 23631 at http://wrkf.org There Will Be a Test Governor's Budget Proposal Unveiled http://wrkf.org/post/governors-budget-proposal-unveiled <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Despite being under a “state of emergency” due to Friday’s wintry weather, members of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee braved rain, sleet and snow to get their first look at Governor Bobby Jindal’s proposed budget for Fiscal Year 2015.</p><p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 22:41:34 +0000 Sue Lincoln 21696 at http://wrkf.org Governor's Budget Proposal Unveiled