jazz http://wrkf.org en Heir To A Jazz Legacy, A Trumpeter Finds His Own Way http://wrkf.org/post/heir-jazz-legacy-trumpeter-finds-his-own-way Jazz composer and trumpeter Theo Croker opens his new album, <em>AfroPhysicist</em>, with an ode to his grandfather: New Orleans jazz great <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/94930761/doc-cheatham" target="_blank">Doc Cheatham</a>. The thing is, Croker didn't grow up in New Orleans or any other jazz hub. He's from Jacksonville, Fla., and he was just a child when his grandfather died in 1997. It wasn't until his grandfather's memorial services — attended by jazz legends — that he decided to join the legacy.<p>"I didn't understand what a legacy was," he tells NPR's Audie Cornish. Tue, 20 May 2014 21:06:00 +0000 NPR Staff 26870 at http://wrkf.org Heir To A Jazz Legacy, A Trumpeter Finds His Own Way Sax Great Jimmy Heath 'Walked With Giants,' And He's Still Here http://wrkf.org/post/sax-great-jimmy-heath-walked-giants-and-hes-still-here In the room he uses as a practice space and office in his apartment in Corona, Queens, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15328578/jimmy-heath" target="_blank">Jimmy Heath</a> recalls a hit record from long ago.<p>"It's a song Bill Farrell, a popular singer, had years ago<strong></strong>," he says, and then sings: "<em>You've changed, you're not the angel I once knew / No need to tell me that we're through / It's all over now, you've changed</em>." Then the 5'3" musician with the big sound picks up his tenor saxophone and blows.<p>When "You've Changed" was a hit song in 1949, Heath was a 23- Sat, 11 Jan 2014 18:14:23 +0000 Tom Vitale 21165 at http://wrkf.org Sax Great Jimmy Heath 'Walked With Giants,' And He's Still Here The Drummer Who Invented Jazz's Basic Beat http://wrkf.org/post/drummer-who-invented-jazzs-basic-beat <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zO0sZLNbKM4</p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 15:50:13 +0000 Michael J. West 21072 at http://wrkf.org From Duke's 'Nutcracker' To A Cynical Carol, Jazz For Christmas http://wrkf.org/post/dukes-nutcracker-cynical-carol-jazz-christmas <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7R6W4eGak50</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qi0s4ujoJfQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZ1O0YhY5Q</p> Thu, 19 Dec 2013 12:35:01 +0000 Nick Spitzer 20275 at http://wrkf.org From Duke's 'Nutcracker' To A Cynical Carol, Jazz For Christmas Wynton Marsalis Goes Back To Church For 'Abyssinian Mass' http://wrkf.org/post/wynton-marsalis-goes-back-church-abyssinian-mass <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0t19NYuoYJg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ufjmxjian3c</p> Sat, 19 Oct 2013 21:40:30 +0000 John Burnett 17687 at http://wrkf.org Wynton Marsalis Goes Back To Church For 'Abyssinian Mass' TUESDAY: LDOR's Tim Barfield, Jazz Trumpeter Wayne Bergeron http://wrkf.org/post/tuesday-ldors-tim-barfield-jazz-trumpeter-wayne-bergeron <p>A visit with Louisiana Department Of Revenue head Timothy Barfield, to talk about Governor Jindal's proposed tax reform plan.</p><p>Jazz trumpter Wayne Bergeron, who'll perform tonight at the LSU Union Theatre</p><p><em> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 16:10:02 +0000 Jim Engster 6995 at http://wrkf.org Walter Stahr, Smiley Anders, Zia Tammami, Van Mayhall http://wrkf.org/post/walter-stahr-smiley-anders-zia-tammami-van-mayhall <p>Jim talks with author and historian Walter Stahr about his book, "Seward: Lincoln's Indispensable Man", about William Henry Seward, Lincoln's Secretary of State.</p><p>A visit with Advocate columnist Smiley Anders on his 75th birthday.</p><p>Jazz radio show host and jazz aficianado Zia "the Cat" Tammami discuss tonight's performance by Chucho Valdes &amp; the Afro-Cuban Messengers, tonight at the Manship Theatre.</p><p>Local attorney and author Van Mayhall talks about his new novel, "Judas, the Apostle", a fictional work about Judas Iscariot.</p><p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 16:56:46 +0000 Jim Engster 2521 at http://wrkf.org