gun violence http://wrkf.org en What We Talk About When We Talk About Violence In Chicago http://wrkf.org/post/what-we-talk-about-when-we-talk-about-violence-chicago We have a default template for the way we process mass shootings. We scour through every available scrap of the perpetrators' interior lives – Facebook postings, YouTube videos, interviews with former roommates — to try to find out what drove them to kill. The sites of the massacres become a kind of shorthand: Columbine, Sandy Hook, Fort Hood. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Gene Demby 29301 at http://wrkf.org What We Talk About When We Talk About Violence In Chicago New Orleans Police Hope To 'Win The City Back,' One Kid At A Time http://wrkf.org/post/new-orleans-police-hope-win-city-back-one-kid-time New Orleans is making progress toward losing the "murder capital" label. For a <a href="http://www.nola.com/crime/index.ssf/2014/01/2013_new_orleans_murder_rate_d.html">second straight year</a>, homicides declined in the city, in keeping with a nationwide trend.<p>For African-Americans in the city, though, the numbers are less comforting. Of the nearly 350 killings in the past two years, 91 percent of the victims have been black. Wed, 14 May 2014 07:44:00 +0000 editor 26549 at http://wrkf.org New Orleans Police Hope To 'Win The City Back,' One Kid At A Time A Common Story: Bullet's Trajectory Interrupts Child's Path http://wrkf.org/post/common-story-bullets-trajectory-interrupts-childs-path Murders are down in New Orleans this year, bucking a national trend. Still, gun violence remains a problem — and children can't escape it. They're left with scars both physical and emotional.<p>What happens after the bullets stop flying? How does a child get up after being gunned down?<p>One boy's story shows the tragedy of gun violence and a community's efforts to heal its victims.<p><strong>Caught In The Crossfire</strong><p>Ka'nard Allen begins his days like most 11-year-old boys, with a mad scramble for the school bus. Sat, 14 Dec 2013 12:23:00 +0000 editor 20065 at http://wrkf.org A Common Story: Bullet's Trajectory Interrupts Child's Path TUESDAY: CAPA's Tara McGuiness, LSU's Larry Jones, Author Tom Folsom http://wrkf.org/post/tuesday-capas-tara-mcguiness-lsus-larry-jones-author-tom-folsom <p>Tara McGuiness, with the Center for American Progress Action, talks about recent statistics ranking Louisiana number one for gun violence.</p><p>A chat with 2013 LSU Alumnus Of The Year Larry Jones.</p><p>Author biographer Tom Folsom on his book, "Hopper: A Journey Into The American Dream", about the late actor Dennis Hopper.</p><p><em> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 15:59:27 +0000 Jim Engster 8592 at http://wrkf.org WEDNESDAY: MSNBC's Chris Matthews, Metro Councilman Joel Boe http://wrkf.org/post/wednesday-msnbcs-chris-matthews-metro-councilman-joel-boe-0 <p>MSNBC commentator Chris Matthews talks about his new book on the life and legacy of John F. Kennedy</p><p>Metro Councilman Joel Boe and Jim will discuss violence and crime in Baton Rouge</p><p><em>Audio should be online by 11 am on Wednesday, December 19</em></p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 16:39:51 +0000 Jim Engster & Jim 3700 at http://wrkf.org Hit By a Stray Bullet http://wrkf.org/post/hit-stray-bullet <div>David Day's son 15-year-old Caleb was hit when shots were fired during a fight at the Mall of Louisiana in January 2012.</div><div><p> Sun, 02 Dec 2012 13:41:00 +0000 Susan Hidalgo-Smith 3013 at http://wrkf.org