fiscal hawks http://wrkf.org en House Spending Full Day on Budget http://wrkf.org/post/house-spending-full-day-budget <p>It’s budget day for the full House, and lawmakers are not looking forward to grappling with the $26-billion spending plan for the fiscal year that starts July first.</p><p>“I don’t see any scenario where I can vote for the budget,” Representative Ted James (D-Baton Rouge) says of the plan.</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Sue Lincoln 26284 at http://wrkf.org House Spending Full Day on Budget Lawmakers Weigh In on Jindal’s Agenda http://wrkf.org/post/lawmakers-weigh-jindal-s-agenda <p></p><p>The 2014 Louisiana legislative session is under way, with Governor Bobby Jindal delivering his “State of the State” speech to a joint meeting of the House and Senate. Compared to previous years, the governor offered an abbreviated slate of measures he wants to be able to sign into law.</p><p>“Our first and most important priority must be to make sure that we have got <em>the</em> best-trained, most skilled, most productive workers anywhere in the world,” Jindal says, regarding his initiatives to improve workforce development.</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 13:53:40 +0000 Sue Lincoln 23566 at http://wrkf.org Lawmakers Weigh In on Jindal’s Agenda State, Federal Education Philosophies Mismatch http://wrkf.org/post/state-federal-education-philosophies-mismatch <p>Opposing opinions surfaced from state education leaders this week on whether the state should move forward on implementing national education standards called Common Core.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;The ongoing struggle to fund higher education continued at</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;a meeting of higher</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>education<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;officials Wednesday.</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Kelly Connelly 16688 at http://wrkf.org Republican Realignment: What Happens to the LAGOP http://wrkf.org/post/republican-realignment-what-happens-lagop <p>Republicans have reason to be wary of their newfound power in the state Senate, having recently gained a two-thirds supermajority. Some political analysts say too much power can backfire.</p><p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Kelly Connelly 15058 at http://wrkf.org Legislative Session Wrap-Up: What Sticks, What Doesn't http://wrkf.org/post/legislative-session-wrap-what-sticks-what-doesnt <p class="p1"><span class="s1">State lawmakers cheered the end of the 2013 legislative session Thursday.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">WRKF’s Kelly Connelly has been following every twist and turn over the past 2 months. News Director Amy Jeffries spoke with Kelly about her time covering the session.</span></p><p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 13:12:07 +0000 Kelly Connelly 11720 at http://wrkf.org Budget Passed, Legislature Adjourns for the Session http://wrkf.org/post/budget-passed-legislature-adjourns-session <p>In the final hours of the legislative session, lawmakers have passed a $25.4 billion budget compromise to finance the state for the fiscal year that starts July 1.</p><p></p><p>The Senate approved the deal with a 38-1 vote. The House voted 104-0 Thursday and the deal has Gov. Bobby Jindal’s backing.</p><p>The budget includes a $69 million increase for local school districts and teachers sought by House Democrats. To address concerns of House Republicans, lawmakers cut down the use of one-time financing for recurring expenses.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 22:01:56 +0000 Kelly Connelly 11567 at http://wrkf.org Budget Passed, Legislature Adjourns for the Session Budget Deal Reached, Final Vote Awaits http://wrkf.org/post/budget-deal-reached-final-vote-awaits-0 <p>After lawmakers negotiated for days, Gov. Bobby Jindal was the first to call a press conference, at around 7 p.m. Wednesday, to announce the budget deal had been reached.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">According to </span><a style="line-height: 1.5;" href="http://theadvocate.com/home/6163692-125/preliminary-agreement-on-state-budget"><em style="line-height: 1.5;">The Advocate</em></a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, the conference was premature — many representatives had yet to talk to their delegations and the final papers had yet been signed.</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 14:03:31 +0000 Kelly Connelly 11530 at http://wrkf.org Senate Shoots Down Fiscal Hawks' Bills http://wrkf.org/post/senate-shoots-down-fiscal-hawks-bills <p>After yesterday’s committee approval, Senators will consider whether to try a new way to write the budget, which will more clearly designate what the legislature has the power to allocate.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">They’ll also consider whether to try limiting the use of money that doesn’t come from taxes on expenses that occur annually.</span></p><p> Fri, 31 May 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Kelly Connelly 11203 at http://wrkf.org House Overwhelmingly Backs Budget Compromise http://wrkf.org/post/house-overwhelmingly-backs-budget-compromise <p>With a 95-3 vote, a nearly $25 billion budget is heading to the Senate for approval after days of negotiations. But it’s not the plan Gov. Bobby Jindal wanted.</p><p> Fri, 10 May 2013 22:28:32 +0000 Kelly Connelly 10222 at http://wrkf.org Bipartisan Budget Deal in the Works http://wrkf.org/post/bipartisan-budget-deal-works <p></p><p dir="ltr" style="line-height: 1.15; margin-top: 0pt; margin-bottom: 0pt;">&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Thursday House Speaker Chuck Kleckley endorsed a plan that would raise revenue and cut spending.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.15;">Earlier this week, the budget was on track to avoid much debate on the floor, but it hit a snag on Tuesday.</span></p><p> Thu, 02 May 2013 21:03:44 +0000 Kelly Connelly 9830 at http://wrkf.org